Hardcore Linux

Anything about Ubuntu, Centos, openSuSe and Fedora

Vmware to Virtualbox Migration

Most of us already know the power of Virtualbox and with the release of 3.0.2 (July 10, 2009). The new version are now more stable than before. With all the fuzz in VMware Server 2.x etc. I think for me it’s now time to migrate from VMware to Virtualbox, but the question is, How can we move out from VMware and migrate to Virtualbox together with our current VMs?

Here’s how:

1. Please note this! Remove the VMware toolbox from guest OS /VM first before doing the next step. Leaving VMware toolbox installed might fail this procedure.

2. Example your VM’s folder is called “myVM”, from console place your current location to that folder by doing:

cd myDisk

3. Multiple dynamic vmware disk needs to prepare first before the migration. You need to perform the following to organize it into a single file.

vmware-vdiskmanager -r mydisk.vmdk -t 0  output.vmdk

4.  The follow up with the Virtualbox clone command

VBoxManage  clonehd  output.vmdk mydisk.vdi

4. Finished! If you are in Linux, the VDI file will be created under ~/.VirtualBox/Harddisks/

5. Completing the process, create your new Virtualbox VM using the migration  VDI disk.

6. Done.

One response to “Vmware to Virtualbox Migration

  1. Max August 11, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try this, but I’m hesitant. I run all VMware products at work, but sometimes it’s a pain to have VMware Server running on my personal machines. I feel I need to continue to use VMware to keep my knowledge of the tools current.

    VirtualBox seems so much more simple to use though for personal use. So, I think I’ll give this a shot and see how I like it. The UI is very nice looking.

Leave a Reply

