Hardcore Linux

Anything about Ubuntu, Centos, openSuSe and Fedora

700Mb Xvid on mencoder

Tried many linux tools to create at least 700 – 800 Mb xvid/divx  video from DVD or MPEG source, although I am successful in conversion process, but the problem is the quality. I tried FFMPEG, AVIDEMUX and then lastly MENCODER, and got this conclusion that MENCODER is the perfect tool for me.

Converted a movie into three (3) version of XVID using the three said tools and compare its quality, and on my test, I found out that MENCODER do it best. Here’s my setup:

mencoder <source file/device> -ovc xvid -oac mp3lame -xvidencopts pass=1 -o /dev/null
mencoder <source file/device> -ovc xvid -oac mp3lame -xvidencopts pass=2:bitrate=-700000 -o <file.avi>

Still I can’t make a perfect 700MB sized xvid file but the 800MB is not bad either.

Done.

Leave a Reply

