Hardcore Linux

Anything about Ubuntu, Centos, openSuSe and Fedora

ZTE MF627 on Ubuntu 9.10

I don’t know if its just me or what, but I got hard time fixing my ZTE MF627 mobile modem to be able to work on my newly installed Ubuntu 9.10. Just like before using the usb_modeswitch. Although I already configured it as i did before  in Ubuntu 9.10 and openSuSE 11.1. But now, I’m encountering this problem that the modem is properly configured but not detected by the NetworkManager. Problem was the /usr/share/hal/fdi/information/10freedesktop file does not properly declare the MF627 modem, so I just modify  the following code:

<match key="@info.parent:usb.vendor_id" int="0x19d2">

 .......

 <!-- ZTE MF628 HSDPA USB dongle -->
 <match key="@info.parent:usb.product_id" int="0x0015">
         <match key="@info.parent:usb.interface.number" int="3">
                <append key="modem.command_sets" type="strlist">GSM-07.07</append>
               <append key="modem.command_sets" type="strlist">GSM-07.05</append>
         </match>
 </match>

Currently, I don’t need the MF628 config, so I think  I just modify it from product id 0x0015 to 0x0031.

In addition, I found a quick way to configure my ZTE MF627 modem using the  zte-mf627-switch package by  Liam Green-Hughes  (http://www.greenhughes.com/content/zte-mf627-easy-way)

To add the personal package archive, do the following:

1. Add the repos via console

sudo echo "deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/liamgh/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
sudo echo "deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/liamgh/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
 

2.  Then import the public key

sudo apt-key adv --recv-keys --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com 187f34b24a23a1ac

3.  then update the current repo configurations and install the package

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install zte-mf627-switch

4. Restart the system to properly check if automatically detects the modem, even in NetworkManager.

5. Done.

2 responses to “ZTE MF627 on Ubuntu 9.10

  1. Vince January 30, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I used the liamhughes. The dongle has been detected, and can run the signal, I know its functioning. But to my dismay, I can’t get connected to the internet. And I really don’t know why.

    Can you help me?

  2. hardc0l2e January 31, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    What’s your current internet provider? the 3g network your using? I think it’s minor problem in your current configurations.

Leave a Reply

